Advisory Board

Jim Chalmers
Earned Bachelor's degree in International Relations from Bethel University.  Attended graduate program at the University of West Virginia in Technology Education.  From 1980 to 2004 Jim owned an employee benefits and financial services firm.  In 1987 he in helped start Pacific Manufacturing Resources in Minnesota and Manila, Philippines.  Elected Mayor of the City of Shoreview in 1991 and served in that position through January 1997.  Helped start up PRRI, a Philippine based environmental firm involved with water and waste water cleanup in 1996.  In 2002, IPR joined together with Presbyterian Homes and Services (Minnesota) to establish International Nurse Recruitment, LLC.  
John Conlin
A Shoreview resident since 1993. John and his family are members of St Odilia’s Church in Shoreview. He currently serves as a speaker on behalf of the Best Prep program serving high school students. John has also served on boards for Young Men’s Downtown Association, Home of the Good Shepherd in North Oaks, St. Paul Skyway YMCA, and the Shoreview Rotary Club. Personal interest includes golf, hockey, and hunting, skiing and traveling with his family.
Nancy Hite (Chair)
Nancy and her husband moved to Shoreview in 1998.  She had a 35 year career in nonprofit services and executive management in Minneapolis. Nancy served on the Shoreview Human Rights Commission for 8 years, and has volunteered on a number of foundation and community development boards, including the Minnesota TWINS Community Foundation, Foundation IX, and the Nicollet Mall Advisory Board.  
Sue Knudson
Sue has been an active member of the Shoreview and Arden Hills community since moving to Minnesota 37 years ago. While raising two daughters she served in leadership positions in the Jaycee Women's group. She chaired the Island Lake School carnival and served as PTO president. As a 621 Foundation member she chaired the grant committee. Sue was a founding board member of the Ken Rome Foundation and co-chaired the annual 5K Fun Run for Cardiovascular Research, in Shoreview's McCullough Park. She retired from teaching several years ago. 
Steve Krueger
Steve is a fourth generation Shoreview resident and Mounds View High School graduate.  He and his wife Tina enjoy raising their three children and spending time at his parents on Turtle Lake.  He has 10 years of experience working with small businesses in Shoreview as a multi-media consultant with Press Publications.

Sandy Martin
Sandy has been the Mayor of Shoreview since 1996. She has served as Co-Chair of the Regional Council of Mayors, is a representative to the Municipal Legislative Commission, co-chairs the Leadership Luncheon Committee for Northeast Youth and Family Services, and is co-founder of the St. Paul Urban Program, a non-profit organization serving disadvantaged youth in St. Paul.  Sandy helped to establish the Shoreview Community Foundation in 2008.  She enjoys most outdoor activities with a special emphasis on tennis, hiking, golf and skiing. Mother of four adult children: Lisa, Craig, Wade, and Ryan. Grandmother of Carly, Abbey, Grant, Tosh, Elle, Rhys and Tobin.

Helen Nelson (Secretary)               
Helen and her husband, Perry, moved to Shoreview in 1977.  Currently a full time Realtor with Edina Realty, Helen taught for over 30 years. Their three adult children were raised in Shoreview and graduated from Mounds View High School. In 2013 Helen and Perry helped establish the Mounds View Community Theatre Fine Arts Scholarship recognizing students from both district high schools.  Helen has served on several District 621 committees and chaired the first kindergarten task force.  She has been involved with youth soccer, written MN State health curriculum guides, and loves living in Shoreview.     

Charlie Oltman (Treasurer)  
A resident of Shoreview for 30 years. Current Park and Recreation Commissioner. Past NSSA coach, Boy Scout leader, twice homeowners association president and past Slice of Shoreview volunteer. Current consultant in the pharmacy healthcare industry. Previous Target employee for 31 years, last as a Senior Manager of Regulatory Affairs. Served on a national pharmacy healthcare board for nine years including the Chair, past Finance Chair, past Annual Conference Chair and currently serves as the chair of the healthcare organization's foundation.
Shelley Renner
Shelley has been a resident of Shoreview since 1985.  She and her husband Rick raised 2 children in Shoreview, both of whom graduated from Mounds View High School.  Shelley owned a small business in Shoreview for 16 years.  She enjoys volunteering as a reading buddy at Obama Elementary School, helping at the Ronald McDonald house, and volunteering at Second Harvest Heartland Meals for Minds program.  Personal interests include golf, biking, gardening and hanging out with Grandkids.   

Debra De Young Schultheis
Deb along with her parents and two siblings, moved to Shoreview in the late 1950’s. She graduated from Mounds View High School in 1973 and the University of Minnesota in 1978. Deb and her husband Otis have raised two children in Shoreview, both graduates of Mounds View High School. Active volunteer in youth sports, Mounds View school system and the Turtle Lake Homeowners Association.

Gwen Simonson 
Gwen has been a resident of Shoreview for 30+ years. Married to long-time Shoreview assistant city manager Tom, they have raised two daughters (Paige and Katie) – both graduates of Mounds View High School and University of Minnesota. Gwen is a business management graduate from the St. Scholastica and works as a Senior Claims Resolution Specialist at Liberty Mutual, where she has worked for over thirty years. Gwen has been involved as a volunteer at St. Odilia Church, the Sharing Corner Food Shelf and the Slice of Shoreview where she worked on fundraising and as the parade coordinator. She is excited to help support the great work of the Shoreview Community Foundation.

Jen Sprain
Jen, a CPA (inactive) by training, has applied her professional skills in both the public and private accounting sectors. While taking time away from the workplace, Jen committed herself to a variety of community initiatives. Most recently, Jen’s volunteer efforts have been dedicated to Turtle Lake Elementary School where she has served on the PTA executive board for five years, serving as president for the last two years.  Most notably, Jen chaired the Turtle Lake Elementary “A Playground for Everyone” capital campaign – an effort to provide our community with an accessible playground for kids of all abilities. In early 2016 she was recognized for her various volunteer efforts by the Arden Hills-Shoreview Rotary Club when she was presented with the Paul Harris Fellowship.  Jen and her husband, Jason, reside in Shoreview with their two sons where they have been residents since 1998. ​

Peggy Strom
Peggy has been a Shoreview resident for 26 years. She has two adult sons, now married, who are graduates of Mounds View High School and Eagle Scouts through local Boy Scout Troop 200. She retired in June 2015 from Medtronic, Inc. following a 36 year career in Finance and Accounting.  Peggy has been active in the Arden Hills / Shoreview Rotary Club for 19 years, and is currently serving a second term as club president. Husband Don Strom joined Peggy in Shoreview in 2002. Don is retired following a long career in office product sales. 

Emeritus Members:
Mark Casci
Mary Hifiker

Emy Johnson
George Lang
Janine Olmscheid
Phyllis Ostergren

Kent Peterson
Marsha Soucheray
Cynthia Stange

Benjamin Withhart